Message Boards Message Boards

Wolfram Neural Net Repository (WNNR) and model discussions

Posted 2 years ago

I am a developer in the machine learning team, and mostly involved with the neural net repository. One of the discussions with my group raised these question in my mind, and these might be stupid questions, but here they are:

Question 1: Would our users rather want more models in their respective field of applications, that are correct, functioning and tested, or would they want models that are correct, functioning tested and properly structured? In other words, a lot of the times, models when imported are not structured properly, and many a times we spend a great deal of time restructuring them (in lack of better words, prettifying them).

If I were a user, I would rather have more models that are correct and ugly, rather than less models that are correct and pretty, because a great deal of developer time is spent in "prettifying them". However, the question to the users here, is there any potential benefit of having a pretty model as opposed to an ugly one, that could justify endless developer hours being spent on making a model pretty? I maybe missing some details or use of pretty and structured models here, and that's why I reached out to our community to see if there are any advantages to justify the tradition of making the published models pretty. This would potentially help us free some time to actually convert models for various application areas.