3 Replies
|
0 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

How to get chart of daylight hours?

Posted 9 years ago

Hello all,

I'm new at using the Wolfram Alpha site, and am hoping to use it for some data about solar power. I was hoping it could give me a table of daylight hours per month via "total daylight hours per month in New Haven, Connecticut for 2014," but my various attempts at wording have not given me anything closer than today's daylight hours in New York City! Wolfram seems to focus on one part of the query or another, eg. only showing me the "day night terminator" or only showing me info about my town, and not combining the elements together.

I feel like I'm missing something simple, any tips will be much appreciated.

thanks!

POSTED BY: Yary H
3 Replies

As promised:

(*Get data*)
sunset = Sunset[Entity["City", {"NewHaven", "Connecticut", "UnitedStates"}], DateRange[{2015, 1, 1}, {2015, 12, 31}]];
sunrise = Sunrise[Entity["City", {"NewHaven", "Connecticut", "UnitedStates"}],DateRange[{2015, 1, 1}, {2015, 12, 31}]];
month = DateString[#, "MonthName"] & /@ DateRange[{2015, 1, 1}, {2015, 12, 31}];

(*Plot*)
listclean = 24. Mod[#, 1] & /@ QuantityMagnitude@(DateDifference[#[[1]], #[[2]]] & /@ Transpose[{DateString /@ sunrise["Values"],DateString /@ sunset["Values"]}]);

We can now get the total number of daylight hours by:

Total /@ GatherBy[Transpose[{month, listclean}], #[[1]] &][[All, All, 2]]
(*{297.233, 297.667, 370.167, 399.417, 449.15, 453.067, 459.567, 428.1, \
374.583, 343.983, 296.567, 286.883}*)

which give the following plot

ListLinePlot[Total /@ GatherBy[Transpose[{month, listclean}], #[[1]] &][[All, All,2]], PlotMarkers -> {Automatic, 10}, 
 Ticks -> {Transpose[{Range[12], Rotate[#, Pi/2] & /@ GatherBy[Tally@month, #[[1]] &][[All, 1, 1]]}], All}, 
 LabelStyle -> Directive[Bold, Medium]]

enter image description here