|
|
4 Replies
|
2 Total Likes
View groups...
Share this post:

TXT or PDF data processing ?

Hi, I am a beginner in Wolfram Language. I am wondering if it is possible to manipulate data of my own? Or perhaps PDF or even Bible and create my own set of attribute to manipulate?

POSTED BY: Jimmy Gunawan
4 Replies

Dear Marco, I was having a similar problem - and now you solved it! Thank you very much for your great posts!

Best regards -- Henrik

POSTED BY: Henrik Schachner

Dear All,

here is a little analysis of the main words in the bible (because that was an example mentioned in the original post):

bibleTxt = Import["http://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/10/pg10.txt"];
WordCloud[DeleteStopwords[TextWords[bibleTxt]]]

enter image description here

Regarding the comment above about the problems with pdf files: I am working on a project where I need to analyse millions of pdf files scanned all over the world. There are in fact many of those which Mathematica cannot open. I found that converting them on a command line to ps and then back to pdf works usually very well. I usually work on Linux based machines, where this is no problem. But this also works on Windows if you use for example cygwin. Using that procedure the pdf problems virtually vanish.

Once the pdfs are fixed there is no problem. For example on this page the author makes -with permission of the AMS - a pdf file of a good book on ODEs available for personal use. Exactly the same code as above works for the analysis of this pdf file:

odestxt = Import["http://www.mat.univie.ac.at/~gerald/ftp/book-ode/ode.pdf", "Plaintext"];
WordCloud[DeleteStopwords[TextWords[odestxt]]]

enter image description here

Of course you might want to do some additional preprocessing of the textiles, but I think that this shows how extremely well Mathematica copes with different file formats.

Cheers,

Marco